Key Stage 3

The Key Stage 3 curriculum consists of the units outlined below. These cover a range of assessments throughout the year that focus on key skills in addition to subject knowledge. Pupils will develop their strengths in these identified key areas as they progress through years 7 and 8.

Assessment: All assessments are completed in class under controlled conditions in order to build up vital skills required for success at GCSE level. Pupils are made aware of what they are being assessed on and how they are assessed early on in the unit.  These assessments are based on 3 Assessment Objectives (AO’s) which have been devised from the GCSE specifications, a copy if which can be found at the front of your child’s exercise book.

Key Stage 4

At Key Stage 4, Faith and Ethics is examined by OCR.  Across the key stage, Students study a range of philosophical and Ethical issues.  They are assessed on their knowledge, understanding and ability to critically evaluate each issue.

Assessment: Faith and Ethics is assessed by 100% examination.

Overview of topics being studied

7 Philosophy
What is the right way to live?
How important is equality to Sikhs?
Awe and Wonder.
Can one person make a difference?
8 Philosophy
Who was Jesus?
Is this world all there is?
Sacred writings?
Judaism and the Holocaust.
Kosher Kitchen
9 Christian beliefs and teachings. Christian practices Islamic beliefs and teachings.
10 Beliefs about Deity
Human Relationships
Beliefs about Deity
Human relationships
End of Life
Wealth and poverty
11 Good and Evil
Peace and Justice

Religion and Science
Religion and Equality

Exam preparation